DNHS Teacher Chosen to Represent San Diego County

x_teacheroftheyear_1Del Norte High School (DNHS) special education teacher Megan Gross has been selected as one of five San Diego County Teachers of the Year. Megan was named during the Salute to Teachers awards show in September, where a total of 43 school district nominees for San Diego County Teacher of the Year were presented. Each year 10 finalists are chosen during the two-hour Academy Awards-style live television program, which culminates in the announcement of the five teachers chosen to represent San Diego County for 2016-2017.

Megan’s classroom is the home base for students in the Autism Spectrum Disorders program at DNHS, where she focuses on using technology as a tool to enhance communication. She works collectively with students, families, and support team members to make success possible for all students. She is also the co-advisor for the Best Buddies club, which promotes friendship and social activities for students with disabilities. DNHS Principal Greg Mizel says that Megan is “profoundly passionate about inclusion. She is deeply dedicated to ending the social and physical isolation of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.”

The four other San Diego County Teachers of the Year are Jenny Anderson (Casita Center for Technology, Science, and Math), Brooke Crocker (Santana High School), Stuart Douglas (Granger Junior High School), and Amy Schwenke (Fallbrook Street School). All five San Diego County Teachers of the Year will be in the running for California State Teacher of the Year, which will be announced later this year.